The 23-man committee was inaugurated over the weekend by the NBA president, Abubakar Abubakar Balarabe Mahmoud, SAN and is to be chaired by Chief Anthony Idigbe, SAN, while Dr Aminu Gamawa is the secretary. He noted that the idea is still an agenda for the committee, others are: ”Given the current size of the legal profession, its exponential growth in recent years in relation to the needs of the Nigerian economy, the committee will consider the desirability of candidates seeking admission to the law faculties in Nigeria to possess a degree in another discipline as a condition for admission. “Review the current regulatory objectives and the regulatory architecture of the legal profession and advise on its suitability to meet the current requirements for a robust, responsive and independent modern legal profession in Nigeria.’’ It read in part: “The Nigerian Bar Association has repeatedly expressed concerns in the falling standard of legal education and legal practice. This is a disturbing phenomenon that must be addressed urgently and adequately.” Members of the review committee include: Prof Konyinsola Ajayi,SAN, Mrs Funke Adekoya,SAN, Prof. Auwalu Yadudu, Mrs Bisi Shoyebo,SAN, Chief Arthur Obi Okafor, Prof Ernest Ojukwu,SAN, Mr Olanrewaju Onadeko,SAN, Dr. Mike Adeleke, Prof Ikpeze Ogugua and Prof Dakas C.J Dakas. Prof Augustine Agom, Paul UsoroSAN, Prof Taiwo Osipitan,SAN, Yakubu Maikyau,SAN, Professors Osita Ogbu, U.U Chuckwuema-Eze, Mr. Rotimi Odusola, Patricia Igwebuike Esq, Prof. M. L. Ahmadu, Mrs. Sade Aladeniyi and Mr. Eric Otojahi -Assistant.]]>