Parties involved in the Edo State election petition tribunal, on Wednesday, adopted their final written addresses bringing petitions a step closer to judgement day.

Five political parties filed petitions on several grounds to nullify the outcome of the September 19, 2020 Edo State governorship election that brought in Godwin Obaseki.

The political parties are Action Democratic Party (ADP), Action Peoples Party (APP), Action Alliance (AA), Allied Peoples Movement (APM) and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

The respondents in the various petitions are governor Godwin Obaseki, his deputy, Philip Shaibu, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Osagie Ize-iyamu.

At the resumed hearing in Benin City, the petitioners and respondents adopted their processes, and asked the tribunal to depend on arguments stated in the written addresses.

While the petitioners prayed the tribunal to grant their reliefs, the respondents argued that the various petitions lack merit and should be discountenanced.

Thereafter, the Justice Yunusa Musa-led tribunal reserved judgement which would be communicated to counsel.

"Casebook on Human Rights Litigation in Nigeria," This book painstakingly addresses the predicament of lawyers and judges in accessing relevant cases of interest. Call +2348033254471

Send your press release/articles to,, Follow us on Twitter at @Nigerialawyers and Facebook @

For Advert Inquiries Tele/+234 806 819 1709 E-mail:

Subscribe ToTheNigeriaLawyer News!