The Attorney General & Minister of Justice, Mr. Abubakar Malami inaugurated the National Arbitration Policy Committee with a view to providing a broader framework for the regime of arbitration in Nigeria.

However, the terms of reference of the Committee is to convene the meeting of experts that will develop the National Arbitration Policy.

Meanwhile, one of the objectives of the Committee is to “protect Nigeria’s economy which generates significant transactions”.

In addition, the Committee is to ensure that transactions originating and terminating in Nigeria that can be termed “domestic” in nature should be arbitrated in Nigeria, noting that “in having the seats/venues of these arbitrations in Nigeria, the government will save billions of dollars.”

Furthermore, the Policy will create jobs for Nigerian Lawyers who specialize in the field of Arbitration.

Meanwhile, the Committee’s specific terms of reference are:

“To review the current laws and policies on Arbitration in Nigeria

“Advise on a new national Arbitration Policy

“Draft an Executive Order to support the application of the new Arbitration Policy across government agencies

“Develop an implementation plan

“Advise on the required infrastructure for setting up a world standard Arbitration Center in Lagos and Abuja”.

However, the National Arbitration Policy Committee consists of the following members:

Dr. Olisa Agbakoba, SAN,
Senior Partner,
Olisa Agbakoba Legal.

Abubakar B. Mahmoud, SAN
Dikko & Mahmoud

Prof C.J Amasike, Ph.D. FCI.Arb
International Dispute Resolution Institute (IDRI)

Mr. Akin Sowemimo
PG Dip Arbitration
QMC London

Mr Lawal Hassan
Assistant Director
Ministry of Power

Mrs. Halima L. Halilu
The Head of Legal Services & Council Secretariat Unit,
Bureau of Public Enterprises,

Wilfred Ikatari
The Director/Chief executive
Regional Centre for International
Commercial Arbitration,

Mr G. Umar Andumar
Head of Legal,
Nigerian Ports Authority

Chike Okoye
Rep. of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation,

The Honourable Minister,
Ministry of Transport,
Central Business Dis,

The Honourable Minister,
Ministry of Budget and National Planning.

Federal Ministry of Justice-Secretariat
Dayo Akpata SAN SGF/PS
Juliet Ibekaku-Nwagwu
Mrs. Maimuna Shiru, Ag. DCL
Felix Okojie
Jamila Akaaga-Ade

Representatives of Other Ministries and Agencies

Federal Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning

Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation

Central Bank of Nigeria

Nigerian Port Authority

Ministry of Power

Ministry of Transport

Ministry of Works and Housing

Bureau for Private Enterprises

FMOJ Regional Center for Arbitration.

Small Manhood And Premature Ejaculation Made Me Stay Away from Love Making For 4yrs...But These Simple Solutions WORKED! Also, Your Enlarged Prostate Can Be Reversed Now! Click Here To See My Breakthrough!

The National Industrial Court of Nigeria: Law Practice and Procedure ( 2nd Edition) by Prof. Offornze D. Amucheazi , SAN and Paul Abba Ugwu, Ph.D...Place Your Order Now This edition is an excellent work and reflects the significant improvements and updates in the practice and procedures of the National Industrial Court of Nigeria  as contained in the 2017 Rules. Book Information: For more information or to order your copies, please call Nonso Tel:  0803 736 4100;

Subscribe ToTheNigeriaLawyer News!