*Arthur Obi Okafor SAN, Withdraws from Race, Proposes a Post Election Audit
*Mobolaji Ojibara, Ph.D FHNR Accepts Outcome of Results, Urges Supporters to Support incoming Executive

Senior Advocate of Nigeria and one of the NBA Presidential candidates of the just concluded NBA National Election, Mr. Paul Usoro SAN, has just emerged as the President Elect of the NBA Presidential Election 2018.

Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Professor Auwalu Yadudu, disclosed this on Monday while announcing the result of the election held in Abuja, the nation’s capital.

Mr. Usoro SAN defeated his closest counterpart with a total of 86 votes out of the number of votes cast as the election. The results which were published in the early hours of today, the 20th of August, 2018 as promised by the Electoral Committee had Mr. Arthur Obi Okafor SAN closely following Mr. Usoro SAN with a total of 4423, while Prof. Ernest Ojukwu  had a total of 3313 votes against Mr. Usoro with 4509 votes.

See below a breakdown of the results:

Positions Candidates Vote Cast Winner
Presidency Paul Usoro 4509 Winner
Presidency Arthur Obi Okafor 4423
Presidency Ernest Ojukwu 3313
First Vice President


MO Stanley Chidozie 6188 Winner
Second Vice President


Dada Foluke Olayemi 4242 Winner
Second Vice President


Aikpoko-Marrins 2819
Second Vice President


Akande Oludare 465
Second Vice President


Oji Benedict Nwosa 1634
Third Vice President


Igba Theophilus Terhile 6020 Winner
General Secretary 2237
General Secretary


Balogun Rafiu Oyeyemi 1630
General Secretary


Taidi Jonathan Gunu 3574 Winner
General Secretary


Mobolaji Ojibara Idris 1993
First Assistant Secretary


Ewenode William Onoriode 4724 Winner
First Assistant Secretary


Ogunrinde Yusuf Olatunji 3545
Second Assistant Secretary


Naandeti Anas 1367
Second Assistant Secretary


Obasi Chinyere Gladys  7142 Winner


Agada Mercy Ijato 3006


Chukwuma-Okafor Obianuju Mary 1959


Olagbegi-Oloba Victoria Banke 4204 Winner
Welfare Secretary


Anyia Sabastine Ubua 3313
Welfare Secretary


Usman Joshua Enemali 5474 Winner
Financial Secretary


Elias Emeka Anosike 5758 Winner
Financial Secretary


Dorcas Nnennaya Ngwu


Assistant Financial Secretary


Marian Nneka Jones


Assistant Financial Secretary


Iniobong Irene Pepple


4294 Winner
Assistant Financial Secretary


Ogoke Samuel



Assistant Financial Secretary


Iloghalu Obiora Bede Izuazi


Publicity Secretary


Williams Ekpo  Anwan


Publicity Secretary


Olukunle Edun


5433 Winner
1st Assistant Secretary Yusuff Olatunji Ogunrinde 3545
1st Assistant Secretary Ewenode Onoriode Williams


4724 Winner
2nd Assistant Secretary


Obasi Gladys Chinyere 1367
2nd Assistant Secretary


Anas Naandeti 7142 Winner
Assistant Publicity Secretary


Akorede Habeeb Lawal


7310 Winner
Legal Adviser


Eze Nnamdi Innocent 4368 Winner
Legal Adviser Farounbi Olayinka Oyeniyi  4340


Other results show MO Stanley Chidozie emerging unopposed as the 1st Vice president with 6188 votes as Taidi Jonathan Gunu was elected the General Secretary of the Bar with a total of 3574 votes.

Dada Foluke Olayemi was elected as 2nd Vice President, Igba Theophilus Terhile as 3rd Vice President, Ewenode William Onoriode as 1st Assistant Secretary, People Iniobong Irene as the Assistant Financial Secretary, Obasi  Chinyere Gladys as 2nd Assistant Secretary, Olagbegi-Oloba Victoria Banke as Treasurer, Usman Joshua Enemali as Welfare Secretary, and Eze Nnamdi Innocent as the Bar Legal Adviser.

The election had only 16115 number of voter with 3631 yet to vote. The outcome of the results had led to complaints by some lawyers who believe that that the publication of the results was premature, as many lawyers have been disenfranchised. According to some, members had a hard time generating the passwords for voting; therefore the disenfranchisement was no fault of theirs.

In the midst of this, some candidates such as Mobolaji Ojibara, Ph.D FHNR have accepted the outcome of the election, whilst wishing the bar well. According to him, he wants to appeal to his supporters to consider the overall interest of the Bar by cooperating with the incoming executive.

This, however, is not the reaction of other candidates such as Arthur Obi Okafor SAN who withdrew from the race and rejected the expected outcome of the results even before they were published.  In a press statement released in the early hours of today, the 20th day of August, 2018, the learned silk rejected the results claiming that inexplicable and strange surges of votes in favour of Paul Usoro SAN and the glaring incidences of hijacked votes make it clear the result of the election cannot stand. He therefore proposed a participatory post election audit of International Standard.

Other victorious candidates like Chinyere Obasi Gladyz and Elias Emeka Anosike Esq have expressed their gratitude to their teeming supporters for their support and resilience shown before and at the poll, promising to give in their best to the actualization of the promises made on the campaign-days.

The outgoing President of the association, Mr Abubakar Mahmoud, commended the electoral committee for the conduct of the election.

Mr Mahmoud, who is also a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, said the election was the fairest exercise held so far.

Subscribe to Thenigerialawyer News!