The PCC Commissioner for Ogun, Mrs Oluyemisi Dawodu, submitted the petition on Thursday in Abeokuta when she paid a courtesy call on the Judge. A copy of the petition made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), Dawodu said that the suspects, who are between ages 16 and 23, had been in prison custody since July 19, 2014. She said the suspects had been kept behind bar on the claim that the court was yet to receive an advice from the Director of Public Prosecution (DPP) on their alleged crime. Dawodu said that the perpetual detention of the suspects without trial is an infringement on their fundamental rights. She, therefore, sought the intervention of the chief Judge for speedy dispensation of justice in their case. Dawodu explained that the commission was established, among other reasons, to investigate complaints of injustice, oppression and victimisation from the public. She said the commission had resolved a total of 158 of the 196 cases it received since April 2015, when she assumed its headship. Dawodu noted that the commission had helped to promote genuine peace and stability in the state through its activities. She, therefore, sought for collaboration between the agency and the court for a more effective administration of justice. “I should not fail to add that the commission should not be seen as being at variance with the law courts. “Rather, it is serving a complimentary role to the courts to reduce the large number of cases that should have gone to the courts,’’ she said. Responding, the CJ commended the commission for its good work and pledged that the Ogun Ministry of Justice would give necessary support to it. She recalled that her office received a petition from the commission in year 2015 and it was promptly treated. The CJ explained that the alleged case must be one of such that the Magistrate had no jurisdiction to handle. She, however, promised to investigate the case with a view to ensuring that justice was done timely. The detainees, all male are; Sulaimon Bankole, Azeez Alabi, Segun Abayomi, Rasaki Abdulazeez, Ifadele Osuolale, Rilwan Sodiq and Sunday Wasiu.]]>

Subscribe ToTheNigeriaLawyer News!