The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) Justice Ibrahim Muhammad has rescheduled the swearing-in of 18 judges whose elevation to the Court of Appeal was approved by President Muhammadu Buhari last week.

The event, earlier planned for Thursday morning at the Supreme Court complex, Abuja, has been put off till a date to be announced later.

The postponement was informed by various reasons, particularly the need to allow the abatement of the strike by court workers and to allow the affected judges “clear their desks in their various offices,” to ensure that there are no outstanding issues before they assume their new responsibilities.

The Director, Information at the Supreme Court, Dr. Festus Akande could not be reached to confirm the development but the Senior Special Assistant (Media) to the CJN), Ahuraka Yusuf Isah confirmed the rescheduling.

The swearing-in was planned for Thursday following information last week by the Chief of Staff to the President, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari that President Buhari approved the nomination of the judges made last month by the National Judicial Council (NJC).

They are Justices Bature Isah Gafai, Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo, Waziri Abdul-Azeez, Yusuf Alhaji Bashir, Usman A. Musale, Jauro Ibrahim Wakili, Abba Bello Mohammed, Danlami Zama Senchi and Mohammed Lawal Abubakar.

Others are Justices Muslim Sule Hassan, Amadi Kenneth Ikechukwu, Peter Oyinkenimiemi Affen, Sybil Onyeji Nwaka Gbagi, Olasumbo Olanrewaju Goodluck, Adebukunola Adeoti Ibironke Banjoko, Olabode Abimbola Adegbehingbe, Bola Samuel Ademola and Grand Kadi Mohammed Danjuma.

The insightful text which goes for twenty-five thousand naira [N25,000] only ( with free delivery throughout Nigeria for those who take advantage of the early bird offer ), has 18 chapters and over 600 pages of expository content. It is ‘a comprehensive book on the policy, legal and regulatory framework governing the Nigerian Telecommunication sector’.

For more information or to pre-order your copies, please visit: Website:, E-mail:, WhatsApp: 07056184412