

NIGERIAN BAR ASSOCIATION

NATIONAL SECRETARIAT: Plot 1102, Muhammed Buhari Way, Cadastral Zone A00, Central Business District, Abuja Nigerian Tel: +234 800 333 1111 www.nigerianbar.org.ng

10 January 2024

NOTICE OF CONSTITUTION OF THE NBA NATIONAL REMUNERATION COMMITTEE

Distinguished Colleagues,

It will be recalled that at the National Executive Council meeting of the NBA held on 7 December 2023, the NBA Renumeration Implementation Committee made recommendations inter alia, for the establishment of the NBA Renumeration Committee referred to in paragraphs 10, 11 and 12 of the Legal Practitioners Renumeration (for Business, Legal Service and Representation) Order, 2023. Consequently, the NBA National Remuneration Committee is hereby constituted, subject to ratification by NEC, as follows:

- 1. Mazi Afam Osigwe SAN Chairman
- 2. Aminu Sani Gadanya, mni Alternate Chairman
- 3. Foluke Akinmoladun Secretary
- 4. Florence Marcus Assistant Secretary
- 5. Professor Agbo Johnson Madaki Member
- 6. Adama Mohammed Member
- 7. Cordelia Uwuma Eke Member
- 8. Damian Nosike Member
- 9. Abdulwasiu Alfa Member
- 10. Barbara Omosun Member
- 11. Augustine Nwabueze Eseagwu Member

In addition to such other duties as may be assigned by the President or NEC, the Committee shall undertake the responsibilities outlined in the Remuneration Order and shall within 30 days from the date of its inauguration, come up with guidelines to regulate the activities of the National and Branch Remuneration Committees as provided under the Remuneration Order.

To ensure effectiveness in the execution of its functions, the Committee shall have the power to delegate the investigation of any complaint to the Remuneration Committee of the Branches which shall hereafter be constituted in accordance with Paragraph 11(3)(b) of the Remuneration Order.

I thank the members of the Committee for accepting this call to serve our noble Association and enjoin us all to accord them the cooperation needed to deliver on their mandate.

Best regards,

Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau, OON, SAN

PRESIDENT

NATIONAL OFFICERS: