The Chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Related Offences Commission (ICPC), Mr Ekpo Nta, has clarified the reason behind the seizure of 24 property and several cars from three officials of the Ministry of Niger Delta.

According to a document from the office of the chairman, dated August 11, 2015 with the title ‘Notice of seizure of movable and immovable properties pursuant to Section 45(4) a – (b) of the Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Act 2000,’ the commission seized the property from the officials who are under investigation.

The Niger Delta Ministry officers listed in the document are Poloma Kabiru Nuhu, Mangset Longyl Dickson and Daniel Obah.

The decision to seize the property had been served on the appropriate Land Registries and Departments in all the states where the property are situated.

According to the chairman, “the commission is of the opinion, based on the aforementioned investigation, that these movable and immovable property owned by these people who are staff of the Ministry of Niger Delta Affairs are excessive, having regards to their present emoluments and all other relevant circumstances.”

Subscribe ToTheNigeriaLawyer News!