The Delta State police command has arraigned 11 members of the Movement for the Actualisation of the Sovereign State of Biafra before an Asaba magistrates’ court.

The members were arraigned over alleged conspiracy, unlawful gathering, incitement, false publication and being in possession of illegal arms.

The suspects were Ashaka Sunday, Okechukwu John, Benjamin Okweselo, Japhet Ugbagwu, Uzor Nweke, Godwin Okonkwo, Patrick Okonkwo, Celestine Okonkwo, Charles Udekeseme, Ofem Etim and Chukwu Solomon.

According to the charge sheet, the alleged crimes committed by the suspects were punishable under the Criminal Laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Inspector Samson Okorie was the police prosecutor in the case.

After the charges were read, the Magistrate, Patrick Uzonitsa, referred the case file to the Delta State Director of Public Prosecution and remanded the suspects in prison custody.

He adjourned the case till October 23, 2015.

Subscribe to Thenigerialawyer News!