Young lawyers forum

Members and executives of the Young Lawyers’ Forum from all the states of the Federation gathered for a 3 day summit in Lagos State. The summit which was held at the Lagos Law School campus began on the 18th of April 2018 and ended on the 20th of April, 2018. The title of the summit was “Transforming Legal Practice for Young Lawyers: THE OPTION OF INFORMTION AND COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGY”.

The President of the Nigerian Bar Association, A. B. Mahmoud OON SAN was at the NBA Young Lawyers Forum Summit on the second day of the summit and he elucidated some issues facing the association and how the incumbent administration has tackled each of them.

On the 20th of April, 2018, at the Annual General Meeting of the Young Lawyers’ Forum summoned by the Wada Ahmed Wada led governing council of the Young Lawyers’ Forum slated for 3pm, the members of the Young Lawyers’ Forum gathered at the venue and waited for about 2hours. There was no communication from the Executives or any of the members of the Governing Council as to the position of the AGM.

While members present were surprised at the sudden disappearance of Mr. Wada Ahmed Wada and his team, the Chairman of the Young Lawyers’ Forum, Ibadan Branch, Mr. Richarmond O. Natha-Alade drew the attention of the members to Article 17 of the Nigeria Bar Association Uniformed Bye Law which empowers the AGM to appoint a member to act in the absence of the Chairman or the Secretary or any member of the Governing Council of the YLF.

At about 5pm it was concluded that the Chairman, Wada A. Wada and his team had deliberately boycotted the meeting and the 13 Branch Chairmen present moved that the meeting be called to order.

In line with the said provision of the NBA Uniformed Bye Law and in compliance with the NBA Constitution, a motion was moved that Mr. Charles Ajiboye, Chairman of the Ikeja Branch be appointed to preside as the Chairman at the AGM. Mr. Ageherario Emamanuel of Warri Branch seconded the motion moved by Mr. Bolaji Adeoye following which the AGM resolved and appointed the said Charles Ajiboye as the Chairman while Mr. Oghenevwarhe Ohwonohwo, Chairman Efurun Branch was equally appointed as the secretary for the purpose of the AGM.

Accordingly, the meeting commenced as the AGM of the YLF following which Mr. Chairman proposed the Agenda of the meeting for adoption.

The house considered various reactions and thereafter a motion was formally moved and it was thereafter resolved that a Vote of No Confidence be passed on the current national leadership of the Young Lawyers Forum led by Wada Ahmed Wada for act of gross misconduct for their deliberate refusal to participate in the AGM which formed part of the Annual Young Lawyers Summit held in Lagos – an AGM they called for.

Following the resolution to pass a Vote of No Confidence, several comments were taken on the embarrassment and disregard by the Chairman, Wada Ahmed Wada and his executives. Actual votes were then taken to formalize the motion wherein 50 persons voted in support of the Vote of No Confidence while only 1 person against it. Having taken the votes, a formal motion was duly moved and passed for the Vote of No Confidence.
Culled from legalnigeria

Subscribe to Thenigerialawyer News!