THIRTEEN suspects arrested in connection to Lekki Ikorodu, Agbara , Festac and Agbara bank robberies, were on Monday, remanded in prison custody by an Ebute-Meta Magistrate Court.

The suspects who were arrested separately by operatives of the Inspector General of Police Special Intelligence Response Team, IRT, in Lagos, Ogun, Edo, Oyo and Rivers States, were brought before Chief Magistrate, O.I Adelaja, on a nine-count charge bordering on armed robbery, murder, attempted murder and illegal possession of fire arms.

One of the count charges reads: That you Clement Abanara (aka Million), Denis Njoku, Blessing Olotu, Sunday Owoloko, John Sobijoh, Idowu Sobijoh, Akiritempate Joseph, Opeyemi Balogun, Olamilekan Moronkeji ,Ayodeji Fanileye, Michael Adebayo, Ahmed Monsuru, Daniel Ukaeju and others at large between the month of March 2015 and October 2015 at Ishawo Creek, in the Lagos Magisterial District did conspire among yourselves to commit Felony to wit: armed robbery and murder and thereby committed an offense punishable under section 295 (2) and 231 of the criminal Law of Lagos State of Nigeria 2011.

The lead prosecuting counsel, CSP Eno-Edobor Aidenoge filed an expert motion before the court asking that the suspects be remanded in prison custody pending when the Department of Public Prosecution DPP, gives it advise on their prosecution.

In her ruling, Adelaja ordered that the suspects be remanded in Prison Custody and their case file transferred to ‎DPP pending when it delivered its advise.

Subscribe to Thenigerialawyer News!