THE Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) is to conduct 78 rerun elections this year, it was learnt yesterday.

A breakdown of the elections showed that the commission will conduct 10 senatorial elections, 12 state constituency elections and 37 state assembly elections.

Others are 17 Federal Constituency elections and two governorship rerun elections, subject to the verdict of the Supreme Court.

According to the commission’s in-house bulletin, the rerun, which will take place across the country, are based on verdicts by the Court of Appeal.

Most of the court verdicts were given in December and a few others in November. They are expected to hold within 90 days or 60 days as ordered by the Appellate Court.

INEC has also announced the date of Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) ahead of the council elections.

The exercise, according to INEC, will start from Wednesday, January 13, to Sunday, January 17. The exercise will take place at 62 registration centres/wards and other approved locations in the FCT.

Subscribe to Thenigerialawyer News!