National Judicial Council ( NJC)

President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, approves 12 Justices for the Court of Appeal, 9 for Federal High Court and 7 for FCT High Court…

President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, has approved the appointment of 29 Judicial Officers for the Court of Appeal, Federal High Court and the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council.

The twelve (12) Justices approved for the Court of Appeal are:-

  1. (Mr) Justice P. A. Mahmud
  2. (Mr) Justice F. O. Ojo
  3. (Mr) Justice I. A. Andenyangsto
  4. (Mr) Justice G. O. Kolawole
  5. (Mr) Justice B. B. Aliyu
  6. (Mr) Justice Ebiowei Tobi
  7. (Mr) Justice J. G. Abundaga
  8. (Mr) Justice A. S. Umar
  9. (Mr) Justice A. M. Talba
  10. (Mr) Justice A. M. Bayero
  11. (Mr) Justice A. M. Lamido
  12. (Mr) Justice M. B. Idris

The following nine (9) Judges were approved for the Federal High Court:-

  1. Sunday Bassey Onu
  2. Adefunmilola Adekemi Demi-Ajayi
  3. (Mr) Justice Peter O. Lifu
  4. Obiora Atuegwu Egwuata
  5. Sa’adatu Ibrahim Mark (Mrs)
  6. Mobolaji Olubukola Olajuwon
  7. Aminu Bappa Aliyu
  8. Tijjani Garba Ringim
  9. Nkeonye Evelyn Maha

The President approved Seven (7) Judges for the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory as follows:-

  1. Binta Mohammed
  2. Modupe Osho-Adebiyi
  3. Gaba Venchak Simon
  4. Babangida Hassan
  5. Akobi Iyabeni Anna
  6. Samirah Umar Bature
  7. Asmau Akanbi Yusuf

The Justices of the Court of Appeal will be sworn-in by the Hon. Chief Justice of Nigeria and Chairman, National Judicial Council, Hon. (Mr) Justice W. S. N. Onnoghen, GCON, on Friday 22nd June, 2018, by 10.00 am.

Those appointed for the Federal High Court will be sworn-in on Monday 25th June, 2018, at 2.00 pm, and Judges appointed for the High Court of the FCT are to be sworn-in on Tuesday, 26th June, 2018, by 2.00 pm at the Main Hall of the Court Room of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

Subscribe to Thenigerialawyer News!