Dino Melaye

Indication appeared Monday that 188, 580 electorates from Kogi West have signed the recall register form to oust Senator Dino Melaye from the National Assembly.

The returning officer for the recall of the lawmaker, Adamu Yusuf claimed that out of 360,098 of the total registered voters from the seven local government areas that make up the senatorial district: Yagba, Mopa-Muro, Kabba Bunu, Yagba East, Koton Karfe, Lokoja and Ijumu, 188, 588, signed the recall register constituting 52.3 per cent of the voters in the district.

He stated that the breakdown of the recall exercise for Yagba East – out of 35,331 registered voters, 18, 374 (52 per cent) signed the recall register.

Others are Mopa-Moro, 18,356 voters (9,186 signed – 50.04 per cent), Kabba/Bunu 60,522, voters (28,277 – 46.7 per cent) and Yagba West, 35, 966 registered voters, 20,029 signed – 55.7 per cent.

Lokoja LG, 63, 736 (54.8 per cent) out of 116, 296 registered voters.

For Koton-Karfe 24,703 (52.77 per cent) and Ijumu, 46,819 registered voters, 24, 238 representing 51.8 per cent.

He added: “Going by the above figures, it is important to let Nigerians know that we have met the constitutional requirements of 51.1 per cent. Senator Melaye has failed to represent Kogi West so we are calling him back home”.

All the seven council administrators from Kogi West were present at the event which held at the All Progressives Congress (APC) secretariat, Lokoja.

Subscribe to Thenigerialawyer News!